Skip to content

Be Net Aware

Computer and Scam Advice

Archive

Tag: Phish

Another Day, another Phish in my Junk mail folder and todays offering we have 3 claiming to be from the Halifax, including one which does not even go to the effort of putting a bank logo on the top. Once again a quick conversion to text from HTML proves that all the e-mails are fake. Though I have to admit the third e-mail has a very good false address highlighted to fool unwary people into clicking on it.

For Reference the Halifax Anti-Phishing Page

From: Halifax Bank [mailto:update@halifaxbos.co.uk]
Sent: 09 August 2009 21:20
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: Sign in to your online access to confirm.

Dear Customer,

You made a transfer from your account and you need to Sign in to your online access to confirm.

Sign In To Online Service <http://chaiyaphum.nfe.go.th/web1/download/formslogin.php>  with a few additional questions to confirm

Halifax Bank PLC

From: Halifax [mailto:halifax@securesuite.net]
Sent: 13 August 2009 09:20
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: Account Review Notification

<https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/LookAndFeel/images/Halifax/hxonlymainnopadding_v1.gif>

________________________________

Halifax Online services

Security Alert

Please note that Your Halifax UK Online Banking Account has expired. Please use the link below to proceed and restore access to Your Account.

https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/_mem_bin/formslogin.asp?source=halifaxcoukHOME <http://handsfreecar.co.uk/libraries/tcpdf/cache/halifaxcoukHome.htm>

From: Halifax Online Banking [mailto:halifax@securesuite.net]
Sent: 13 August 2009 10:26
To: selrak@hotmail.co.uk
Subject: Account Review Notification!!!

<https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/LookAndFeel/images/Halifax/hxonlymainnopadding_v1.gif>

________________________________

Halifax Online services

Security Alert

Please note that Your Halifax UK Online Banking Account has expired. Please use the link below to proceed and restore access to Your Account.

https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/_mem_bin/formslogin.asp?source=halifaxcoukHOME <http://handsfreecar.co.uk/libraries/tcpdf/cache/halifaxcoukHome.htm>

Message-ID: <8D7C73D2F7884D7D84FB85DCF9C13C59.MAI@digi-sol.de> X-ME-Bayesian: 0.113396

Another day another phishing attempt this time from a bank I don’t even have an account with. If I did have an account there are 2 telltale signs in the html version that it is a fake

1) No Name or Account Reference

2) Provides a “link” to the site

Which according to the Alliance & Leicester Phishing page, they will never ask for.

The final proof that this is a fake is that when you look at the text version of the e-mail the link does not point towards the Alliance and Leicester website.

Alliance Leicester

From: Alliance & Leicester Bank [mailto:e-banking@alliance-leicester.co.uk]
Sent: 07 August 2009
To:
Subject: Alert : Update Your Profile.

<http://www.alliance-leicester.co.uk/App_Themes/Default/images/medium/AL_logo.gif>

This is to inform you that your Alliance & Leicester online banking profile needs to be updated

To access your Secure profile, click on the link below:

Update Profile <http://spintech.dk/shop/images/icons/profile-management.htm>

Account Reference: (0×3d.0×38.0×4e.0xcf)

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistence, log in to your alliance Online account and click the Help link located in the top right corner of any alliance Online page. This email (including any attachments) is intended for the above-mentioned person(s). If you are not the intended recipient of this email, please delete this email immediately. It is private and confidential and may contain legally privileged information.